Main
Date: 08 Feb 2008 09:27:00
From: SAT W-7
Subject: Who wins ,
,,Lets say you are getting ready to checkmate some one and you have more
pieces left BUT your clock runs out first do you lose ?





 
Date: 08 Feb 2008 16:38:44
From: help bot
Subject: Re: Who wins ,
On Feb 8, 12:27 pm, Sin...@webtv.net (SAT W-7) wrote:

> ,,Lets say you are getting ready to checkmate some one and you have more
> pieces left BUT your clock runs out first do you lose ?

I have yet to see any clock that can outrun me;
just run after it-- those things don't grow on trees,
you know.


-- speed bot




 
Date: 08 Feb 2008 19:38:39
From: David Richerby
Subject: Re: Who wins ,
SAT W-7 <Sin768@webtv.net > wrote:
> ,,Lets say you are getting ready to checkmate some one and you have
> more pieces left BUT your clock runs out first do you lose ?

Yes. If your clock runs out, you lose the game. The only exception
is that, if you actually make the checkmating move (i.e., deliberately
release the piece that delivers checkmate on its square) then the game
is finished and you have won, even if you do not press the clock and
the flag then falls.


Dave.

--
David Richerby Devil Vomit (TM): it's like a pile of
www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~davidr/ puke that's possessed by Satan!


  
Date: 08 Feb 2008 11:59:33
From: J.D. Walker
Subject: Re: Who wins ,
David Richerby wrote:
> SAT W-7 <Sin768@webtv.net> wrote:
>> ,,Lets say you are getting ready to checkmate some one and you have
>> more pieces left BUT your clock runs out first do you lose ?
>
> Yes. If your clock runs out, you lose the game. The only exception
> is that, if you actually make the checkmating move (i.e., deliberately
> release the piece that delivers checkmate on its square) then the game
> is finished and you have won, even if you do not press the clock and
> the flag then falls.
>
>
> Dave.
>
If you are a coffee house style player, check the house rules. One
place I used to play allowed king takes king due to time pressure
controversies. If your opponent has captured your king -- you are lost. :)
--

Cordially,
Rev. J.D. Walker, MsD, U.C.


   
Date: 08 Feb 2008 17:20:43
From: SAT W-7
Subject: Re: Who wins ,
Thanks for the info...



 
Date: 08 Feb 2008 10:59:37
From: SBD
Subject: Re: Who wins ,
On Feb 8, 11:41=A0am, Sanny <softta...@hotmail.com > wrote:
> On Feb 8, 10:27=A0pm, Sin...@webtv.net (SAT W-7) wrote:
>
> > ,,Lets say you are getting ready to checkmate some one and you have more=

> > pieces left BUT your clock runs out first do you lose ?
>
> If you are Playing with Clock, As soon as Clock runs out you loose the
> game. Even if you find a Mate in 2.
>
> Bye
> Sanny

With the exception of course if you are playing at GetClub......


 
Date: 08 Feb 2008 09:41:21
From: Sanny
Subject: Re: Who wins ,
On Feb 8, 10:27=A0pm, Sin...@webtv.net (SAT W-7) wrote:
> ,,Lets say you are getting ready to checkmate some one and you have more
> pieces left BUT your clock runs out first do you lose ?

If you are Playing with Clock, As soon as Clock runs out you loose the
game. Even if you find a Mate in 2.

Bye
Sanny

Play Chess at: http://www.GetClub.com/Chess.html